How does the one month grace period work with online training?

A person must complete their online training including the webinar within 3 years and 1 month from their last training. The one month extra is a grace period and should not be taken unless absolutely necessary.

It is important to keep in mind that at busy times of the year, it may take 2-3 weeks after completing the self-paced part of the course before a space in a webinar is available.
It is recommended that you allow 1-2 months to complete all components of the online training before the expiry date of any current training.

How can I contact the PSU if I need to during online training?

At regular points throughout the training, there are opportunities to contact the PSU. This may include the need for pastoral support, to make a report or to raise something about the training.

For Online Assistants, it’s best to let the participant contact the PSU directly rather than you doing this on their behalf. If you have any serious concerns please raise this with your Safe Ministry Representative or the PSU.

Can I successfully complete the training on a smartphone?

You can complete the self-paced components of the training on a smartphone or mobile device, although this will depend on an individual’s preference and the actual device used.

However, do not attend the live webinar on a smartphone.

Webinars are interactive sessions and you will not successfully complete a webinar on these smaller devices (you will be required to attend another webinar if you use a smartphone). Please use a desktop computer, laptop or tablet instead.

Receiving your certificate when training is complete

For face-to-face training, certificates will be emailed directly to participants with a note reminding them to forward it through to their Safe Ministry Representative and to record when they are next due to participate in training.

For online training courses, once attendance and participation at the final component of the course (a live webinar) is confirmed, users will be emailed a special access code to give them access to one last Checkpoint.
This email will be sent 24 hours after the webinar.
When that Checkpoint has been successfully completed you will have immediate access to your certificate.
You will be able to access your certificate at any time after this via the My Dashboard page of the training site.

What is a webinar?

A webinar is a live, web-based video conference that uses the internet to connect the individual (or multiple individuals) hosting the webinar to an audience of viewers and listeners from all over. Hosts can show themselves speaking, show slideshows or demonstrations.
Participants do not need any special equipment to attend our webinars – a tablet (like an iPad) or large internet connected device and speakers or headphones are all that is needed.

Webinar platforms also offer interactive features that the audience can use to ask questions and ‘chat’ with host. We include Q&A sessions to answer participants questions about the content, and there is a text-based Q&A box where questions can be typed by participants at any time during the presentation.
We also test knowledge and understanding through the use of interactive polls throughout the presentation.

The webinar is a key component of most of our courses, as it provides the opportunity to test participants understanding of key concepts and for them to interact with experienced senior safe ministry trainers.

We use Adobe Connect as our webinar platform.

What happens if my course enrolment expires before I finish the course?

The online Safe Ministry Essentials and Refresher course both have an enrolment period of six months.
You should complete all the self-paced topics, the live webinar and the post-webinar topic within that period.

If your course enrolment (six months) expires before you can complete your training (including the webinar and post webinar Topic), then you will need to ‘Enrol‘ and pay for your course again, which will gain you an additional enrolment period, and you will need to start your course from the beginning .

Tips and Tricks – web browsers

Tips and Tricks – web browsers

If you experience problems progressing in the courses, the chances are that doing some simple maintenance on your web browser will fix it.
This involves clearing the browser cache and/or cookies.
Here’s a list of simple instructions on how to do that for common browsers.

NOTE: If this looks too technical for you, either seek local help or simply try another browser. We are unable to assist individuals with technical problems with their device.

Chrome – desktops and laptops

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click the menu button (three vertical dots).
  3. Click More tools, then click Clear browsing data.
  4. At the top, choose a time range. To delete everything, select All time.
  5. Next to “Cookies and other site data” and “Cached images and files” check the boxes.
  6. Click Clear data.
  7. NOTE: Try just clearing the ‘Cached images and files’ first and see if that helps.

Chrome – Android devices

  1. Tap Chrome menu > Settings.
  2. Tap (Advanced) Privacy.
  3. From the “Time Range” drop-down menu, select All Time.
  4. Check Cookies and Site data and Cached Images and Files.
  5. Tap Clear data.
  6. Exit/quit all browser windows and re-open the browser.

Chrome – iPads and iPhone

  1. Open Google Chrome on your iPhone or iPad and tap the Options
  2. Tap Settings
  3. Scroll down and tap Privacy.
  4. Tap Clear Browsing Data.
  5. Select which Browsing Data to clear (Browsing History, Cookies, Site Data, Cached Images and Files) then Tap Clear Browsing Data.
  6. Tap Clear Browsing Data again to confirm your selection.

Firefox – Windows

  • Click the menu button Fx57Menu and choose Options.
  • Select the Privacy & Security panel.
  • In the Cookies and Site Data section, click Clear Data….
  • Remove the check mark in front of Cookies and Site Data.
  • With Cached Web Content check marked, click the Clear button.
  • Close the about:preferences page. Any changes you’ve made will automatically be saved.

Firefox – Android devices

  1. Tap the menu icon located at the top right corner. …
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. After that, you will be taken to the settings screen. …
  4. You will then be taken to a list of what can be cleared. Hint: try leaving cookies intact first.
  5. After those have been selected, tap the Clear data button to actually clear the cache and cookies.
Safari 14.0 (Mac)
  1. In the Safari app  on your Mac, choose Safari > Preferences, click Privacy, then do any of the following:
    • Remove stored cookies and data: Click Manage Website Data, select one or more websites, then click Remove or Remove All.
      Removing the data may reduce tracking, but may also log you out of websites or change website behaviour.
    • See which websites store cookies or data: Click Manage Website Data.

Microsoft Edge

  1. Open the Settings Menu. In the top right hand corner you’ll see three dots in a horizontal line. …
  2. Locate Clearing Browsing Data. …
  3. Choosing What to Clear. …
  4. Restart the Browser.